Story Behind This Photo – Man in the Fur Hat


Man in a Fur Hat - SwitzerlandThe story behind this photograph…

Just up from Lugano, Switzerland there is a small lake, Lake Muzzano, between the little towns of Sorengo and Muzzano. Around most of the lake there is a walkway and a field where horses graze and then the path reaches a set of stairs that are flanked by a small vineyard. These stairs are very steep and once you make it to the top you can sit on a bright red bench, on a narrow ledge, and with your feet up on the railing and you can admire the view and observe as others climb the stairs.

One cold winter day I was sitting on one of those benches trying to warm up in the sun and I saw this man in a long winter coat and a fur hat, descend down the stairs. I lost sight of him at times (that is how steep these stairs are) but then he appeared and I took this photo.

One of my professors at my college said this image reminded him of a photo like Henri Cartier-Bresson would take – a high compliment that I do not feel worthy of but I do strive for a similar style as that great photographer!

That is the story behind this photograph.

Details: Black and white photo taken with an Olympus camera (one that they do not make anymore, sadly enough).

*This photo is available for sale on my store site. Click here and buy a poster of the “Man in A Fur Hat” today!

Published by

themonicastoreblog

I love to travel and I love taking pictures.

Leave a Reply

